A little bit of Pop culture

My turn to play the critic:

LEFT BEHIND: While I’m sure Nicholas Cage will add a bit of cache to the franchise I’m not excited about this. Although measuring up to the dramatic skills of Kirk Cameron will not be much of a challenge. And if Cage plays a drunk boob I’m sure he’ll do a good job. The reality is the theology of this one sucks, I never saw the Gospel preached as a get on board the Rapture train invitation.

AUTO TUNE: I don’t care if you can sing or can’t, you want to get on my list, use obvious auto tune. I know Katy Perry needs it, Lord knows Taylor Swift couldn’t perform without it, but Sara Baralles? Bruno Mars? If you have talent and Sara and Bruno certainly do, turn the damn thing off and let us hear something authentic.

MADONNA: I know she’s not relevant any more, but how did this woman have such a long music career? Can she sing? Does she play or has she mastered a musical instrument? Has she written any great songs? I suspect the answer to all those questions is a resounding no. And yet she had a career that spanned over twenty years and earned her a place in the Rock and Roll hall of Fame, while Chicago is still waiting for their invite. What does it say about the 80’s -90’s sophistication in musical taste that she hung around so long? Not much good.

U2’s NEW ALBUM: First thanks for giving this thing away Apple, because no one but Sophisticated Taylor Swift, Katy Perry and Madonna fans would have bought it. It’s Rock and Roll Damn it. Take the drums and bass out of the cave and place a microphone within a 100′ feet of them. I suggest that Clayton and Mullen need to woodshed to Bonham and Jones for a few years and come back when they’re ready. Bono is a great rock singer, some of the tunes are OK and Edge is a unique voice on the guitar. But nothing on this recording, with this mix, says “good rock rhythm section.

ARCADE FIRE: I’ve tried to like these guys. The first time I saw them on SNL I switched about a quarter of the way thru to the you-tube chalkboard scratching channel. I saw them on a re-run of SNL doing a different tune a couple of weeks ago, I got halfway thru it. What is it? They are so white, I half expect them to set up a wonderbreadpoloza tour with the Smothers Brothers opening. They are so white I expect Dieter and Klaus of the Sprockets to release a dance video of their tunes. They are so white it wouldn’t surprise me if they performed wearing sheets. Why do people like this band anywhere but in Groose Point, MI?

MY MUSIC, It needs at least a “Little Bit of Soul”   https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IO7t4EV81Vo

Leave a Reply

